A summary of the editing process…

Posted: January 18, 2011 in Media

Day 1

Well after uploading all of my filming onto Adobe Premiere Elements, I started at the very basics. I simply put all of the clips in the order I had originally wanted them in to see what it would look like. Having done this I could then trim bits down (using a cutting tool) to make the trailer appear a bit more smooth and professional (So I was left with only the bits I really needed).

As this year we have new computers with Adobe Premiere Elements programmed on them, I am predicting there will not be as many problems with the program as last year, where we often found it either refusing to open our projects or even deleting parts (which was very irritating and wasted a lot of time that could have been used for editing).

Day 2

So after the basic editing was done (just cutting pieces not needed off of various clips) I decided to add some special effects to see how they would affect my trailer.

My original plan was to use the black and white special effect for just clips that were intended to be (in the film) flashbacks from the character of Jack which hints to his motives for revenge. But looking at some other clips when they were put in black and white I thought it would be a better idea to put the whole trailer in black and white (thus indicating the film itself would be black and white). The reason for this was because the lack of colour connotes the dark nature of the film towards the audience, therefore giving them an idea of what the film will be like without having to physically tell them anything. 

This had to come into account when I was thinking of the colour of the intertitles, as having a black and white film and white titles also I thought could seem a bit plain or repetitive. So I chose red titles instead to give a bit of variety to the colour codes of the trailer as well as to connote the bloodshed and violence within the film itself. As I carried on with the intertitles I thought I would use quite a plain font, as in the past (mostly in the AS course ) I think I have generally tended to use the stereotypical and conventional fonts within my work instead of trying to keep it simple. So I think the font I eventually chose was ‘Arial’ in the end because it was easy to read, stood out and looked simple enough (by choosing a simple font I’m trying again not to give too much away about the film, it connotes something is being hidden from the audience and they’ll have to watch the film to see what).

Day 3

I worked mostly on the audio (dialogue and music) throughout this day.

After uploading the clips of dialogue I had recorded I then unlinked the audio and video and after deleting the video, placed the dialogue in the proper place (according to my storyboard). I was then in a position to decide whether or not the dialogue worked with the clip it was played over.

I then started to add music. I did have a little problem here because I wanted music and dialogue playing at the same time in my trailer but found the music tended to overlap the dialogue and therefore made the dialogue inaudible (which was annoying because some of the dialogue was vital and was needed to give information to the audience about the film). But after a little experimenting I worked out a way to make the music and dialogue get higher and lower at whatever time I wanted, so when dialogue needed to be heard I’d make it higher and the music lower and vice versa.

Day 4

It was just a matter of choosing the perfect track.

Before I used a track called ‘I Used to Know’ that I had downloaded from Freeplaymusic.com

 This seemed to work well and worked well in my storyboard too when I had put it together on Windows Movie Maker, but I found myself getting a little irritated with the track after a while and tried out some different ones I had already.

Finding myself unable to choose between a few tracks I liked pretty much equally (and all I felt worked in the trailer’s background) I left it to an audience to decide. Here was the results (from 10 people I asked):

‘Personal Demons’ track got 5/10 votes

Comments

‘This is tension building’

‘Something you’d probably hear in a trailer’

‘I used to Know’ track got 3/10 votes

Comments

‘I like it- it sounds creepy’

Strange, but good’

‘The Enemy Behind the Door’ track got 2/10 votes

Comments

‘Very tense. I think this would be a good choice.’

‘It’s very scary, so it would probably help to show what genre your trailer is.’

So the winner was (as you can probably tell) the track named ‘Personal Demons’ and therefore I added it to my trailer. I think the audience’s choice is most probably the best and I happen to agree with them after listening to their reasons and explanations.

Day 5

I then added the logos of my trailer that I had previously created myself (Psychotic Studios, Wrath Productions, Sweet Justice pictures) at beginning of the trailer because this is a well-known convention of trailers that I noticed during my textual analysis. After adding a few finishing touches (involving getting rid of bits that weren’t needed, experimenting with the places of dialogue, music and clips etc) editing for my trailer was pretty much done and dusted.

I just need to make sure of this, as I don’t want to say it’s done when it could be better. So I’m going to get some audience feedback on my trailer (that is hopefully finished) to see if there’s anything that still needs to be done or altered to improve the trailer’s overall quality (this way I can easily go back and change things depending on the content of their feedback).

Leave a Reply

